KCCA FC players celebrating with their trophy at Emokori play grounds in Bukedea district. Photo Courtesy, Ronnie Lusulire.

Stanbic Uganda Cup: 10-man KCCA edge Vipers SC to scoop 10th Uganda Cup title

Stanbic Uganda Cup: 10-man KCCA edge Vipers SC to scoop 10th Uganda Cup title

Full Time results

Vipers SC 0-1 KCCA FC

KCCA FC clinched their 10th Uganda Cup and second successive title when they defeated Vipers SC 0-1 at the Emokori play ground on Saturday evening thanks to a Julius Poloto header in the 42th minute.

Vipers’ Duncan Sseninde got booked in the 21st minute after fouling Allan Okello with Sadam Juma also entering the referee’s books for fouling Milton Karisa three minutes later.

With three minutes to end the first stanza, Julius Poloto headed in an Allan Okello miscalculated effort after a lapse in defence from Vipers Halid Lwaliwa allowing Patrick Kaddu to easily control and pass to Okello.

Goal scorer Julius Poloto (L) celebrating his goal with the Provider Allan Okello (R) and other KCCA FC players. Photo Courtesy, Ronnie Lusulire

In the second half, Vipers SC made double changes taking off Daniel Mzee Serunkuma and Duncan Sseninde for Brian Nkuubi and Steven Mukwala respectively.

KCCA had goalkeeper Charles Lukwago to thank pulling off two world class saves to deny Milton Karisa and Steven Mukwala.

Vipers SC made their last change in the 68th minute as Moses Waiswa paved way for Pius Wangi while KCCA FC KCCA brought on Paul Mucuurezi for Jackson Nunda.

With a 15 minutes to full time, KCCA FC were reduced to ten after midfielder Sadam Ibrahim Juma got a second yellow card for intentionally handling the ball.

The Venoms then pressed KCCA FC in search of a leveller but Timothy Awany and his troops were alert to deal with all threats.

Former Synergy FC midfielder Solomon Okwalinga came on for Allan Okello with six minutes to play.

Paul Mucuurezi nearly doubled the City lad’s lead with only Ismael Watenga to beat after a brilliant inter change passes with Patrick Kaddu but failed.

The title took KCCA FC on same number of trophies with Express FC (10) denying Vipers SC a double this season.

Team lineups

Vipers SC

Ismail Watenga (GK), Halid Lwalira, Bashir Asiku, Geoffrey Wasswa, Yayo Lutimba, Moses Wasswa, Taddeo Lwanga, Duncan Senninde, Milton Karisa, Erisa Sekisambu, Dan Serunkuma.

Substitutes: James Alitho, Ashiraf Mandela, Steven Mukwala, Tom Masiko, Pius Wangi, Brian Nkuubi, Frank Tumwesigye.


Charles Lukwago (GK), Filbert Obenchan, Habib Kavuma, Timothy Awany, Paul Musamali, Isaac Kirabira, Sadam Juma, Jackson Nunda, Julius Poloto, Allan Okello, Patrick Kaddu.

Substitutes: Tom Ikara, Jamil Maliyamungu, Dennis Okot, Eric Senjobe, Solomon Okwalinga, Paul Mucuurezi, Ibrahim Wammanah.


Best goalkeeper: Charles Lukwago (KCCA FC)

Charles Lukwago received his award from former Uganda Cranes goalkeeper Sadiq Wasswa and current Cranes keeper and captain Denis Onyango. Photo Courtesy, Ronnie Lusulire.

MVP:  Allan Okello ( KCCA FC)

Allan Okello received his award from Ex-internationals Ayub Balyejusa and Hakim Mugumba. Photo Courtesy, Ronnie Lusulire.

Top Scorer: Patrick Kaddu ( KCCA FC with 7 goals)

Patrick Kaddu received his award from former Uganda Cranes striker Alex Isabirye and Emmanuel Okwi. He scored six goals. Photo Courtesy, Ronnie Lusulire.


1st runners up: Vipers SC

Vipers SC players after receiving their silver medals. Photo Courtesy, Ronnie Lusulire.

Winners : KCCA FC

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *