Vipers SC players celebrating after winning the Azam Uganda premier league title of the 2017/18 season. Photo Courtesy.

AUPL: Happiness and joy as the AUPL Climaxes with Vipers SC scooping the title and Express FC narrowly surviving

AUPL: Happiness and joy as the AUPL Climaxes with Vipers SC scooping the title and Express FC narrowly surviving

The Azam Uganda premier league officially came to an end yesterday with eight matches at different venues that saw Vipers SC emerge champions and Express FC narrowly surving the sword. A total of sixteen goals was scored on the final day that also saw Proline FC, UPDF FC and Masavu FC lives in the top flight league come to an end.

At the St.Mary’s Stadium Kitende, Vipers SC came from a goal down to beat a ten man UPDF FC 4:1 to win this season’s Championship.

The army side took a surprise lead through Joseph Janjali capitalizing on goalie Ismael Watenga’s howler in the 24th minute.

With three minutes to half time, the visitors were reduced to 10 men after Midfielder Kisambira Julius was shown matching orders for a second booking before Viper’s left back Yayo Lutimba leveled matters in 45th from Sekisambu’s setup.

After the break, Erisa Sekisambu converted from a penalty to give the Venoms a 2:1 lead sending the home fans wild in the 65th minute. Dan Muzeeyi Serunkuma added the third goal in 82nd minute to take his tally to seventeen (17) goals finishing as league top scorer with substitute Pius Wanji icing the cake with the fourth strike in added minutes.

The Venom’s victory marked the end of UPDF’s life in the top tier league come season 2018/19.

At Bugonga Fisheries Grounds, Alfred Leku’s lone strike in the 59th minute was all that Express FC needed to edge the hard fighting Masavu FC in the battle for relegation survival to the Big League.

The result confirmed the Red Eagles’ stay in the league after Proline FC lost to URA FC 2-1 at the StarTimes Stadium Lugogo, thanks to Ronald Kigongo’s 64th minute and Shafiq Kagimu’s 86th minute strikes that cancelled out Daniel Isiagi’s 38th minute lead.

At the Mandela National Stadium, title contenders and defending champions KCCA FC shared spoils with Police FC in a two all draw.

Teenage sensational Allan Okello gave KCCA FC the lead in the 26th minute before Norman Ojik equalised for the home side.

Samuel Kayongo made it two for Police FC in the 45th minute and later Patrick Kaddu drew the tie level with a tap in for the visitors in the 83rd minute.

Other match day 30 results, Onduparaka FC 2:0 Brights Stars FC (Goals by Ceaser Okhuti 37′  and Erick Bida 65′) and later Okhuti was sent off,  Soana FC 0:0 Maroons FC (Soana FC missed a penalty) Mbarara City FC 0:2 KJSSS FC (Goals by Kirya Joram 15′  and Musa Esenu 67′), SC Villa 0:1 BUL FC.

Relegated teams;

Masavu FC,

Proline FC


Leading Scorers.

Dan Muzeyi Sserunkuma 17 goals Vipers SC

Nelson Senkatuka 15 goals Bright Stars FC

Shaban Muhammad 13 goals KCCA FC

Milton Karisa 12 goals Vipers SC

Martin Kizza 10 goals SC.Villa

Daniel Opolot Isiagi 10 goals Proline FC

Derrick Nsibambi 9 goals KCCA FC

Musa Esenu 9 Goals Kirinya Jinja SSS FC

Fred Amaku 8 goals Kirinya Jinja SS

Viane Sekajugo 8 goals Onduparaka FC

Break down of prize money (Total package: Shs 128M):

1 – Shs 60M

2 – Shs 20M

3 – Shs 9.6M

4 – Shs 7M

5 – Shs 5M

6 – Shs 4.5M

7 – Shs 4M

8 – Shs 3.5M

9 – Shs 2.8M

10 – Shs 2.5M

11 – Shs 2.4M

12 – Shs 2.3M

13 – 2.2M

14 – Shs 1M

15 – Shs 0.7M

16 – Shs 0.5M


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *